Artist Focus #2: Danièle WILMOUTH

Artists Focus Hong Kong Premiere

Artist Focus #2: Danièle WILMOUTH

USA / 84 mins / English / Chinese & English subtitles

The film contains nudity scenes.

Visual Artist / Filmmaker (USA)

Danièle Wilmouth creates hybrid forms of film, video, installation, and live art that explore ritual, pattern, monotony, and impermanence.  She is fascinated by the unconscious choreography of ordinary life and how cinema reveals the miraculous spectacle of the everyday. Her award winning films investigate mediation of the choreographed body—constructing performances exclusively for the camera, as well as experimental approaches to social issue documentary.  Daniele’s relationship with dance started when she began a six-year residency in Osaka, Japan in 1990, where she performed Butoh dance, and co-founded Hairless Films, a multi-national independent filmmaking collective.

“Wilmouth’s works are not dance on film, but films that dance.” 

-Bill Brown, Filmmaker


Curtain of Eyes 

1997 / 12 mins

Curtain of Eyes is an experimental film which combines Japanese Butoh dance with psychological imagery and choreographed cinematography. Over a six-month period, Wilmouth collaborated with Butoh dancer Katsura Kan, and his dance company The Saltimbanques, to create movements for both dancers and camera. The result is an exploration of intimate relationships and bi-cultural identity. British musician Adrian Freedman composed the original score for the film.

Containers

1999 / 6 mins

Chicago-based performance artist Joseph Ravens delivers morbid poetry about human anatomy and our search for youth and immortality. His macabre metaphors are oddly juxtaposed with colorful festive objects made from magical pills, exotic remedies and bottled potions. Adapted from the stage performance, May Contain, the film includes a sound collage which mocks our futile attempts to prolong life, and the magnificent elixirs we put our hopes into.

Tracing a Vein

2001 / 15 mins

A contemporary ceremonial dance between performers and camera, Tracing a Vein charts the journey of an individual through the cycle of life. The film combines live action and stop motion camera work, with choreography influenced by Japanese Butoh dance. Drawing on a range of mythology and folklore, Tracing a Vein attempts to re-appropriate the spiritual power of ancient performance; to rediscover the performer as priest, warrior and healer.

ROUND

2002 / 10 mins

ROUND is a research project on analogue and digital myths of creation. In consultation with scientists, folklorists and theologians, we study the sterile white digital world of replication; a virtual breeding farm. Turbulent floods and disembodied hands sculpt figures with uncertain identities. Bodies roll chasing their own shadows in an infinite stream. A human race speeding along the fragile demarcation between object and subject, questioning the danger, or benefit, of becoming a thing amongst the things we produce.

A Heretic’s Primer on Love & Exertion

2007 / 25 mins

Pilfering from the traditions of vaudeville, dance and performance art, Trevor Martin and Kym Olsen slip from monologue to dance, trousers to dresses, female to male, in a collection of 29 related incidents.  A Heretic’s Primer on Love & Exertion reveals the duality of identity – probing the construction of gender, the manipulation of desire, and the colonisation of the human body for various political, medical and religious agendas.

FANFARE for MARCHING BAND

2012 / 16 mins

Saturated colours, euphoric music, and ecstatic dance choreography fail to engage an immobilised public. FANFARE for MARCHING BAND follows the antics of a ragtag musical militia, as they embark on an inept invasion through a parallel universe where their exuberant music is out of sync and unheard. Reflecting on today’s lean economic times, this music and dance film features choreography by Peter Carpenter, and music by the circus punk marching band Mucca Pazza, who stage musical actions for joy at various inappropriate locations around the city of Chicago.

Director
Danièle WILMOUTH

Screening details

2/9/2022 [Fri]
9:00pm
Kino, 1/F Eaton HK

Comments are closed.

焦點藝術家 #2:丹妮爾.威爾茅斯

焦點藝術家 香港首映

焦點藝術家 #2:丹妮爾.威爾茅斯

美國 / 84分鐘 / 英文 / 中英字幕

影片含有裸露場面

視覺藝術家 / 導演 (美國)

丹妮爾.威爾茅斯的創作善於糅合電影、錄像、裝置及現場表演,並深入探索儀式、圖案、單一與無常。她往往為日常生活中自然發生的無意識編排感到著迷,亦著眼於如何以電影捕捉平凡生活中的奇妙不凡。她獲獎無數,其作品經常探討如何牽引舞動的身體⸺構建為拍攝而設計的演出,及拍攝回應社會問題的實驗性紀錄片。威爾茅斯與舞蹈結緣於1990 年在日本大阪開始為期六年的駐留,她參與舞踏創作和演出,並聯合創立了跨國獨立電影製作團隊 Hairless Films。

「威爾茅斯的作品不是描述舞蹈的電影,而是會跳舞的電影。」 ——比爾.布朗,電影製片人


《凝視》

1997 / 12分鐘

《凝視》是一部將日本舞踏丶心理意象和舞蹈錄像結合的實驗影片。威爾茅斯耗了六個月時間,與日本舞踏大師桂勘及其街頭藝人舞團合作,為舞者和鏡頭視覺創作肢體動作,發展出對親密關係的追尋和二元文化身份的探索。本電影的配樂由英國音樂家阿德里安.弗里德曼原創。

《容器》

1999 / 6分鐘

芝加哥表演藝術家約瑟.拉文斯吟誦關於人體丶追求青春與長生不老的暗黑詩篇。令人毛骨悚然的隱喻詭異地與色彩斑斕的物品並置,從神奇丹藥、異國複方到魔藥神水琳琅滿目。改編自舞台演出,電影的獨白對於我們為延長生命寄予厚望的靈丹妙藥徒勞無功作無情嘲弄。

《追踪脈絡》

 2001 / 15分鐘

表演者和鏡頭間的現代舞儀式,《追踪脈絡》描繪了一個人在生命週期中的整個旅程。本片結合動作與定鏡攝影,編舞則深受日本舞踏影響。借鑒一系列神話和民間傳說,《追踪脈絡》試圖重新利用古代表演的精神力量,重構表演者作為牧師、戰士和治癒者的角色。

《圓》

2002 / 10分鐘

《圓》是一個關於模擬和數碼神話創造的研究項目。邀請了科學家、民俗學家和神學家進行諮詢,鑽研如何在純白色數碼世界之中進行複製;彷如一個虛擬養殖場;洶湧的洪水和身份不明脫離軀體的手;身體在源源不絕的溪流中滾動追逐自己的影子。人類族群在客體與主體脆弱的分界線之間飛馳,向我們生產的物事好壞提出疑問。

《關於愛與盡力的異教徒入門手冊》

2007 / 25分鐘

偷取雜耍、舞蹈和表演藝術的傳統概念,崔弗.馬田和金.奧森從說獨白到跳舞、從穿褲子到著裙子、從女到男,收集了 29 件相關事件。《關於愛與盡力的異教徒入門手冊》揭示了身份的二元性——探索性別的建構、慾望的操縱以及人的身體對各種政治、醫學和宗教議題的殖民化。

《步操樂隊的開場小號》

 2012 / 16分鐘

奪目的色彩、歡快的音樂和狂喜的舞蹈卻無法吸引一旁毫不觸動的公眾。《步操樂隊的開場小號》緊隨一隊雜牌軍制服音樂團隊的滑稽巡遊,他們的小隊深入群眾,卻彷似穿越了平行時空,縱使音樂氣勢磅礡,旁人對其參差不齊的音樂置若罔聞。這部音樂舞蹈電影反映了經濟不景的今天,由彼得.卡本特編舞,馬戲團龐克步操樂隊穆卡.帕扎創作音樂,在芝加哥市內各處最不適合演出的地點快樂地表演音樂。

導演
丹妮爾.威爾茅斯

放映資訊

2/9/2022 [五]
9:00pm
香港逸東酒店1樓Kino

留言功能已關閉。